West African States adopt eco as common currency reported for introduction in 2020

According to a CNN article dated 1 July 2019, the Economic Community of West African States (consisting of Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo) has adopted the name “eco” for a planned single currency to be used in the region. Originally intended to be launched in 2000, the common currency has been postponed multiple times, and the newest target date is 2020.

Leave a Reply