East African Community moves to introduce common currency in 2012

An East African Business Week article dated 14 February 2011, contains interesting information on the continuing plans to form an East African Community Monetary Union similar to the European Union, wherein all the partner states will replace their individual currencies—the Burundian franc, Kenyan shilling, Rwandan franc, Tanzanian shilling, and Ugandan shilling—for a single regional currency in 2012.

Courtesy of Aidan Work.

Leave a Reply